2019 Uncirculated Year Set - 50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing


2019 Uncirculated Year Set - 50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing

On 21 July 1969, over 500 million people watched in awe as Neil Armstrong became the first human to set foot on the Moon. The first few minutes of the iconic television broadcast originated from an antenna dish at Honeysuckle Creek near Canberra, ACT. The Mint commemorates this historic event with this striking uncirculated year set.

The historic footage of Apollo 11 Astronaut Neil Armstrong taking his first steps on the surface of the Moon were relayed to the world via a 26-metre antenna dish at NASA’s Honeysuckle Creek Tracking Station near Canberra, ACT. Fifty years later, the Moon Landing is still regarded as one of the greatest triumphs of human endeavour. Millions of people around the world know exactly where they were as they watched the famous television broadcast.
The Royal Australian Mint honours all the people who worked on the momentous Apollo 11 mission with this magnificent 2019 Six-Coin Proof set, including special 5 cent and $1 coins featuring representations of the Moon and the Honeysuckle Creek Tracking Station.

· Sets include two unique coins: a 5 cent coin representing the Moon with the Apollo 11 landing site, and a $1 coin representing Earth and the Honeysuckle Creek Tracking Station.
· The first time that the 5 cent coin has been changed in a year set.
· Packaged in a beautiful presentation folder and sleeve.
· Obverse features Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II effigy sculpted by Ian Rank-Broadley.
· Australian legal tender coins.