2006 $5 State Government Series - Tasmania



2006 $5 State Government Series - Tasmania - 150th Anniversary of State Government

150 years ago in 1856 the States of Victoria, NSW and Tasmania were granted self-government and their own State Governments. An anniversary of this proportion deserves a significant tribute and we are very pleased to announce three brilliant silver proof coins. Each coin is produced in silver with a modern design that depicts an evolving Australia. This design spotlights each state by extracting its borders and making it a centrepiece of the coin.

The coins will form part of a larger series as significant anniversaries of other states are celebrated over the next few years.